Related Searches – Live, Google, Yahoo – My comparison with a simple example

Live search really rocks when it comes to related searches. For an example, check this out. Search for "Population of India" in Live, Google and Yahoo.

image

And, the related searches in the left hand side which is very cool. It catches my eyes and they are at the correct place in the search page.

image

Google gives me this… the number is little below the one given by Live search and I believe the Live search to be more accurate because I know the % of growth in Indian Population daily 🙂

image

And, Google doesn’t give me any related searches. I wonder whether they have that at all in their search. If not, sorry, you are losing to Live! And, I still accept that Google is the no. 1 in the Search, but seems like Live Search is picking up very well. Way to go folks!

And, Yahoo! gives me this:

image

July 2005 estimate! Come on Yahoo! I do not want an old estimate. And more over, Yahoo! has relevant search options right below the search results and above the search results. In some way, it just seems like a spell checker thing – doesn’t catching to my eyes as a related search options.

To sum it up, Live Search rocks in the Instant Answers, Related Searches. It just need to improve on its search results on which they are  doing a tremendous improvements over the months. I expect to see more growth on this in the coming days. I’m also waiting on the Compete Search market analysis for the month of July. June numbers were really promising on the Live Search part.

Leave a comment