Nava Brindhavanam – a divine place

Ever since my sister started reading Kumudham Jodhidam, she loves everything written by A.M. Rajagopalan. I have a high degree of respect for him just because of his writings, and his spiritual knowledge. I always wanted to visit as many temples as possible when I go to any city or place, and he knows a lot about them, and their history. He doesn’t stop having the knowledge, but shares with the world with his writings.

From the time he mentioned about this divine place Nava Brindhavanam located in Karnataka, I’m planning for the trip. It’s been more than 5-6 years I know this place and been planning for it, but didn’t still get that golden moment to visit this place. Recently when I was trying to search about this place on the web, came across this nice blog where the author has visited the place, and tried to give a complete picture of this place, and the travel.

I recently visited Manthralayam which is the jeeva samaadhi of Sri Raghavendra Swamigal. It was a divine place, and I cannot explain the feeling which I got when I was inside the premises.

The geographical location of Nava Brindhavan is here. Below are the great 9 (credit : Raju’s blog)

Nava Brindhavan 1 by Raju's Temple Visits.

  • Sri Padmanabha Theerthar, the prime sishya of Sri Madhvacharyar (1317-1324)
  • Sri Jaya Theerthar (1365-1388) or Sri Raghu Variyar, Guru of Raghothama Theerthar whose Brindhavan is at Thirukkoyilur near Thiruvannamalai (1502-1537)
  • Sri Kaveendhra Theerthar (1392-1398)
  • Sri Vaageesa Theerthar (1398-1406)
  • Sri Vyasaraja Theerthar (1447-1539), Raja guru of Krishna Deva Raya and the next avatar of Brhalatha and the earlier avatar of Sri Raghavendhra
  • Sri Srinivasa Theerthar (1539-1564)
  • Sri Rama Theerthar (1564-1584)
  • Sri Suseendhra Theerthar, Ragavendhra swami’s guru (1614-1623)
  • Sri Govindha Odeyar (1534)
  • I’m sure I’ll be excited to plan for a trip to this place soon. But, as people say this is a divine place of 9 great saints, and they will call you only when the right time comes. I’m just waiting for my time.

    Leave a comment