My thoughts on Windows Phone 7

It’s been more than a month since I started using this little magic device. For people who are used to the modern touch phones (aka iPhones), this certainly would look similar. But, the experience is certainly different. For me, this is the most fluid mobile operating systems that I had my handson till now. I have used WinMo 6, 6.5, Nokia Symbian smartphones till date.

The world is going crazy over apps. People buy phones for apps. I’m not sure if I completely agree with that. Just having a great app doesn’t make me buy the phone. It is the day to day experience for simpler tasks like making a phone call, reading emails, even using just a calculator application that matters to me. May be it is just me. I wish to use the phone as a phone. Sometimes for games, but those won’t impress me to buy the phone.

Outlook app in the WP7 is the best I have used. The email experience is amazing, and I couldn’t believe that I feel typing using the onscreen keyboard is great. The keyboard is one of the killer points. Love the Facebook integration (not the app), and forth coming Twitter integration would be great too.

But, people doesn’t call it the BEST since it lacks a few basic things you would expect from a smartphone like copy-paste, multi-tasking, etc – few of which is expected in the first software update.

And, developing for a phone is just easy as you do write a simple C# application. Just started playing with the SDK, hope I will deploy a few apps in my name.

The platform has to evolve much more, but it has the potential to stay in the game. Game on!

And, I thought I will also write about my favorite apps. Mind you, I won’t agree to the claims of many people that people buys phones for apps. I just use them as and when they are required, still using my device as a phone matters to me than these.

These are my favorite apps, not in the order.

  • Camera – the most impressive one. My HTC Mozart has a 8M camera which is pretty decent.
  • Pictures Hub – the most innovative pictures viewer that I have used.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Wonder Reader – an amazing Google reader client
  • Games
    • Ultra Air Hockey 2
    • Triangula
    • Traffic
    • Tic Tac Toe

My wife enjoys these free games too, and should mention that I loose everytime playing with her on these multiplayer games.

 

Disclaimer : I work for Microsoft, an d received a WP7 from my employer. This blog certainly is my view, and I’m not paid for writing this. All views are personal.

Leave a comment