Happy New Year 2008 – my gift for the new year

Happy New Year 2008 to everyone! Let everyone get what they deserve this new year.

This new year has already brought me into the Windows Mobile world. I always wanted to get a Pocket PC mobile, but never had it before. But, this new year has got me one – oh yeah, I got one for this new year, whatever it is.

htc-touch.jpg

I got a new HTC Touch and also get a new Airtel connection. HTC Touch is really a cool phone and it has all the features I really wanted. But, it lacks a few things like GPS and 3G. But all I wanted is a phone with WiFi, Bluetooth, 2MP camera, GPRS, touch interface, et all.

This phone which I got was actually a refreshed one P3452 with 128MB of RAM, and 256 MB of main memory. Initially HTC released the same model P3450 with 64MB of RAM which was little slow. Most of my friends played to be early-users, but again they missed this 128MB RAM thing which in fact is very much needed.

Lately I also activated Internet on my Airtel connection which uses EDGE. And, I would say that the speed is not that good, but pretty decent. Here is where the 3G feature would play a big role in the future, but at least now, I’m happy with this in India.

Here are some great applications I feel in love with, to use them in my HTC Touch:

    1. Palringo

Great IM tool – You can login to Live/Yahoo/Gtalk Messenger services. This also has a powerful option to send voice clips, photos in a matter of few clicks.

    2. Windows Live for Mobile

        Gives access to all Live Services.

    3. SPB GPRS Monitor

        Gives me a view of my Internet bandwidth usage.

    4. Google Maps and Virtual Earth mobile

        Do you need any introduction to this?

    5. SPB Insight

Great Mobile RSS reader – My frequently used application – this deserves a play in my Home Screen.

    6. Skype for mobile

        Do you need any introduction for this too?

    7. Yahoo! Go mobile

Gives access to all Yahoo! services – worth mentioning is the cool Flickr uploader tool which is kinda cool.

Have a great year ahead!

Leave a comment